Beginning January 1, 2015 individuals in the state of Michigan will be allowed to seek the treatment of a physical therapist without a physician’s referral. Michigan was the last state to allow direct access for its citizens. What this means to you – If you believe that physical therapy would be beneficial, you may seek immediate treatment. You will be allowed 10 treatments or 21 days of treatment, whichever occurs first, without having to obtain a prescription. However, our physical therapists, wishing to keep our patients’ primary care physicians updated on their physical therapy treatment, will send a plan of treatment to the patient’s physician after the initial evaluation. Not all insurance companies comply with this law, and still require a referral. Medicare and Blue Care Network require referrals, but call your insurance company to verify if you are unsure.
Remember, referring your friends will get you added to our $50 gift card raffle!